Student Achievements

  • Anil Vishnu G. K., a Ph.D. student at the Centre for BioSystems Science and Engineering (BSSE), jointly supervised by Prof. Hardik J. Pandya (DESE) and Prof. Annapoorni Rangarajan (MRDG), has been selected for the prestigious Gandhian Young Technological Innovation Award (GYTI), 2020. The accolade to the team is for the project focused on developing a portable diagnostic platform for rapid label-free phenotyping of breast cancer.

    In the case of breast cancer surgery, the current protocol to assist the surgeon in determining surgical margin involves intra-operative frozen section examination which requires the surgically removed sample to be sent to the pathology lab. This process is time consuming, requires the expertise of a skilled personal (Oncopathologist), and further suffers from poor sample preparation leading to inconclusive diagnosis. To aid the surgeon and the oncopathologist in rapid diagnosis as well as surgical margin assessment inside the operation room, we have designed and developed a portable diagnostic platform. The platform is integrated with microchips, electronic modules, actuators, and firmware for control and data acquisition in a label-free manner. The electrical, thermal, and mechanical modalities of the breast biopsy tissues are measured and analyzed for delineating normal from cancer. After studying a large cohort of samples, the team envisages this platform to be used inside the operation room for rapid surgical margin assessment.

    A provisional patent for the invention has been filed at the Indian patent office.

  • Khantesh Agrawal, PhD student in the department of Chemical Engineering, has got the folowing prizes in conferences over the last year. Overall, he has won about 1 lakh in prize money so far!
  • Dr Oindirla Kanjilal [PhD, 2018, Department of Civil Engineering] receives Alexander Von Humboldt Postdoctoral Fellowship [Tenable at Technical University at Munich for 24 months]. Details can be found @
    A further update
  • Disha L Dinesha, receives POSOCO Power Systems award 2019
    • MSc student Disha L Dinesha of Department of Electrical Engineering, receives POSOCO Power Systems award 2019 in Masters Category for her thesis titled “Application of Semi Analytical Methods for Large Power System Simulations”
  • Apeksha Madhukar has been selected for NRDC National Budding Innovators Award – 2018
    • Phd Student Apeksha Madhukar of Department of Electrical Engineering, has been selected for NRDC National Budding Innovators Award – 2018, for her invention “A novel way of reducing gaseous pollutants by solid industry waste supported by electrical discharges: Removal of waste from waste”.
  • Ms. Ritambhara Gond,  has received the 2019 Electrochemical Society (ECS) Summer Fellowship.
    • Ms. Ritambhara Gond, a final year Ph.D. student working under Prof. Prabeer Barpanda at the Materials Research Centre (MRC), has received the 2019 Electrochemical Society (ECS) Summer Fellowship. Ritambhara is one of only two global recipients of this coveted fellowship. The Electrochemical Society (ECS, USA) offers this fellowship each year to graduate students involved in electrochemistry related research.
      This prestigious fellowship comes with a financial reward of USD 5000.”
  • James Clerk Maxwell Writers Prize 2018 (Runner Up) awarded to Dr. Sumit Bahl
    • Sumit Bahl was a PhD student of Prof. Kaushik Chatterjee in the Department of Materials Engineering  and graduated last year. He recently received this award for his paper in Philosophical Magazine
  • Navjot won the second prize at the national-level Falling Walls Lab India competition