

## CV Raman and Physics at IISc



CV Raman became IISc's first Indian Director on 31 March 1933 and established the Department of Physics the same year.

In 1935, Raman invited Max Born to be at the Institute as a Reader in Theoretical Physics for a period of six months. Born was a renowned physicist who had laid the foundations of quantum mechanics, and he later received the Nobel Prize in 1954.



Sir Mirza Ismail (second from left), CV Raman and Max Born





Homi Jehangir Bhabha was appointed Special Reader in Physics in 1939. He set up the Cosmic Ray Research Unit with funds from the Sir Dorabji Tata Trust, and became Professor in 1942. He left in 1945 to set up TIFR. In this period, his students included Harish-Chandra, who later became a renowned mathematician.

Bhabha also collaborated with SV Chandrasekhar Aiya, who was later Chair of the Department of Electrical Communication Engineering, and Vikram Sarabhai.

CV Raman with Homi Bhabha and others

## APPENDIX D.

The affairs of the Indian Institute of Science, Bengalore, particularly the relationship between the Council and Sir C.V. Reman, who has been Director of the Institute since April 1933, have been recently the subject of various conflicting comments in the press. The Council, therefore, considers it desirable to issue an authoritative statement embodying the summary of the decisions which were unanimously reached at its meeting on 19th July 1937. Twelve out of fourteen members of the Council were present at this meeting. The Council has arrived at an arrangement mutually acceptable to itself and Sir C.V.Raman by which he has relinquished the office of Director from 19th July 1937 but continues as Professor of Physics with necessary modifications in his agreement regarding empluments and conditions of service. The Council has appointed one of its members has Bahadur B. Venkatesachar, who was until recently Professor of Physics at Central College, Bengalore, to act as Director of the Institute for the present. According to the revised constitution of the Institute, a Registrar has been appointed who will take over charge towards the end of this month. He will not however be taking the place of the Director who will have in future many important functions to perform. The permanent Director will be appointed as soon as arrangements for his selection can be made under the regulations of the Institute.

The Council believes that this arrangement will afford greater leisure and better opportunities to Sir C.V. assan to devote himself exclusively to scientific work; and that it will also help to create an atmosphere in the Institute which will enable all its departments to carry on their legitinate activities with harmony and efficiency. This arrangement has the approval of the three principal parties responsible for the

Raman stepped down as Director on 19 July 1937, but continued as Professor of Physics until his retirement in 1948. His students at IISc included GN Ramachandran, S Ramaseshan, and Vikram Sarabhai.