

Dr. R. Chidambaram Principal Scientific Adviser to the Government of India and Chairman, SAC-C

Dr. R. Chidambaram is one of India's most distinguished experimental physicists. He has made outstanding contributions to many areas of basic science and nuclear technology in the country. He received his Ph.D. degree from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, in 1962. He joined the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) in the same year. In 1990, he became its Director. During his time at BARC, he nucleated the supercomputer programme there. From 1993-2000, Chidambaram was Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission of India. He played a leading role in the design & execution of the peaceful Nuclear Explosion experiment at Pokhran in 1974; he also led the team of the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) which designed the nuclear devices used in the Pokhran tests in May 1988, carried out in cooperation with the Department of Research and Development Organisation (DRDO). During his stewardship of the DAE, the nuclear power programme got a big boost and the capacity of the nuclear power plants increased sharply. He was Chairperson of the Board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) during 1994-95. In 2008, he was appointed as a member of the Commission of Eminent Persons by the IAEA to prepare a report on the 'Role of the IAEA to 2020 and Beyond'. He was also a member and later Vice-President of the Executive Committee of the International Union of Crystallography during 1990-99. He has D.Sc (h.c.) degrees from more than twenty Universities in India and abroad. He has more than 200 research publications in refereed journals and all his research work has been in India.

Dr. Chidambaram had been awarded the Padma Shri (1975) and the Padma Vibhushan (1999), the second highest civilian award in India. He has also won many other awards, including the Distinguished Alumnus Award of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (1991); the Second Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary International Visiting Fellowship by the Indian National Science Academy(1992); the C.V. Raman Birth Centenary Award of the Indian Science Congress Association (1995); the Lokmanya Tilak Award (1998); Veer Savarkar Award (1999); Dadabhai Naoroji Millennium Award (1999); Meghnad Saha Medal of the Indian National Science Academy (2002); Sri Chandrasekarendra Saraswathi National Eminence Award (2003); Homi Bhabha Lifetime Achievement Award of the Indian Nuclear Society (2006); Lifetime Contribution Award in Engineering (2009) from the Indian National Academy of Engineering and the C. V. Raman Medal (2013) from the Indian National Science Academy, and the Lifetime achievement Award of the Council of Power Utilities (2014). He is the Chairman of the High-Level Committee for the National Knowledge Network. Currently, Dr. Chidambaram is the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Government of India and the Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet.

Amongst the many recent initiatives he has taken as the PSA, includes the development of the Advanced Ultra Supercritical (AUSC) technology for coal based thermal power generation, which was nucleated by him, along with Shri Shyam Saran, former Special Envoy of the Prime Minister on Climate Change. Apart from this, he was also instrumental in setting up of the Core Advisory Group for R&D in the Electronics Hardware (CAREL), the creation of Ru TAG (Rural Technology Action Groups), the establishment of SETS (Society for Electronic Transactions and Security) headquartered in Chennai, etc., all of which are creating a significant impact on science and technology in India.