Statue of JN Tata with a model of the Main Building of IISc in his hand. Tata died in 1904 before the Institute came into existence (Courtesy: APC)


A young Maharaja with his mother, the Regent Queen of Mysore State. (Courtesy: APC)

The Indian Institute of Science was founded in 1909 as a result of the joint efforts of Jamsetji Nussarwanji Tata, the Government of India and the Maharaja of Mysore.

Tata conceived of a university of science in 1896 that would work for the benefit of India, and in 1898, created an endowment for establishing such an institution.

The Government of India decided to locate the Institute in Bengaluru, where the Maharaja of Mysore, Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV, donated over 370 acres of land for this initiative.

The Institute was formally vested in 1909, the foundation stone was laid in 1911, and the first batch of students started their studies the same year

Directors of IISc

M W TraversNov 1906–June 1914
Alfred BourneOct 1915–Mar 1921
Martin Onslow ForsterNov 1922–Mar 1933
C V RamanApril 1933–July 1937
Jnan Chandra GhoshAug 1939–Dec 1948
M S ThackerSept 1949–Aug 1955
K SreenivasanAug 1955–Mar 1957
S BhagavantamMar 1957–Dec 1962
S DhawanDec 1962–July 1981
S RamaseshanAug 1981–July 1984
C N R RaoAug 1984–July 1994
G PadmanabanAug 1994–July 1998
Goverdhan MehtaAug 1998–June 2005
P BalaramJuly 2005–July 2014
Anurag KumarSince August 2014


Joint/Associate/Deputy Directors

S RamaseshanJoint Director 1979–81
G PadmanabanDeputy Director 1993–94
A Sridharan
Deputy Director 1994–97
M VijayanAssociate Director 2000–04
N Balakrishnan
Associate Director 2005–14
Jayanth M ModakDeputy Director Since Aug 2015
S RamakrishnanDeputy Director Since Aug 2015


Officiating/In-charge/Acting Directors

Alfred HayOfficiating Director June 1914–Oct 1915, Mar 1921–Nov 1922
B VenkateshacharDirector-In-Charge July 1937–July 1939
E V Ganapathi Iyer
Acting Director Nov 1947–Sep 1949
K Sreenivasan
Acting Director Aug 1955–Mar 1957
D K BanerjeeActing Director April 1971–Mar 1972